2013 Monte Carlo World Federation Cup

Posted by:

2013 Monte Carlo World Federation Cup

The following invitation was sent out to all backgammon Federation and Organization heads. If you are attending the upcoming 38th Backgammon World Championships in Monte Carlo and are interested in participating in this event, make sure to let your Federation head know!

Dear Backgammon Federation and Organization Heads,

On behalf of the IPATT Group, I am contacting you in regard to the 2013 Monte Carlo World Federation Cup to be held during the 38th Monte Carlo World Championships this August.

The Monte Carlo World Federation Cup allows your Federation or Organization to be represented in Monte Carlo and compete for the title.

Tournament Format and Qualification Procedure:

Each participating Federation and/or Organization is allowed a maximum of 4 player representatives.

Participating Federations and Organizations may run one (or more) Satellites to play down to their 4 designated representative(s) who will take part in the World Federation Cup, OR they may simply select their representative(s) by any method of their choice. Satellite formats may be at the discretion of the Federation and Organization Heads.

Federations and Organizations must submit their respective player representatives to Antoinette-Marie Williams via email at no later than Thursday, August 1st, 2013 to be included in this event.

Federation and Organization Eligibility: Should a formal backgammon Federation exist within your country, they will be responsible for designating and submitting their player representatives. Players are encouraged to please contact their respective Federations to make them aware of this event. Those players residing in countries without formal Federations are asked to please contact Tara Mendicino at in regard to all questions of eligibility and participation.

Monte Carlo World Federation Cup Format:

Entry Fee: 100 Euros per player

Prize Pool: The 2013 World Federation Cup Trophy and 90% of the overall prize pot

Prize Distribution: 70% to the Winner and 30% to the Finalist

Format: Early round matches will be 9 points, single-elimination. The Final round will be 11 points.

Start Date: Thursday, August 6th at 10:30 PM

Please do not hesitate to contact me or Antoinette-Marie Williams should you have any questions or need further information.

Additional details concerning the 2013 Monte Carlo World Federation Cup and 38th Monte Carlo World Championship can be found on our website at

Thank you for your interest in the 38th Monte Carlo Backgammon World Championship and we hope to see you in August!

Tara Mendicino for the IPATT Group


Add a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

World Champion 2021 Masayuki "Mochy" Mochizuki (Japan)
World Champion 2019 Eli Roymi (Israel)
World Champion 2018 Akiko Yazawa (Japan)
World Champion 2017 Didier Assaraf (France)
World Champion 2016 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 2015 Ali Cihangir Cetinel (Turkey)
World Champion 2014 Akiko Yazawa (Japan)
World Champion 2013 Vyacheslav Pryadkin (Ukraine)
World Champion 2012 Nevzat Dogan (Denmark)
World Champion 2011 Takumitsu Suzuki (Japan)
World Champion 2010 Lars "Buster" Bentzon (Denmark)
World Champion 2009 Masayuki "Mochy" Mochizuki (Japan)
World Champion 2008 Lars Trabolt (Denmark)
World Champion 2007 Jorge Pan (Argentina)
World Champion 2006 Philip Vischjager (Netherlands)
World Champion 2005 Dennis Carlston (USA)
World Champion 2004 Peter Hallberg (Denmark)
World Champion 2003 Jon Røyset (Norway)
World Champion 2002 Mads Andersen (Denmark)
World Champion 2001 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 2000 Katie Scalamandre (USA)
World Champion 1999 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 1998 Michael Meyburg (Germany)
World Champion 1997 Jerry Grandell (Sweden)
World Champion 1996 David Nahmad (Italy)
World Champion 1995 David Ben Zion (Israel)
World Champion 1994 Frank Frigo (USA)
World Champion 1993 Peter Jes Thomsen (Denmark)
World Champion 1992 Ion Ressu (Switzerland)
World Champion 1991 Michael Meyburg (Germany)
World Champion 1990 Hal Heinrich (Canada)
World Champion 1989 Joseph Russell (USA)
World Champion 1988 Phillip Marmorstein (Germany)
World Champion 1987 William Robertie (USA)
World Champion 1986 Clement Palacci (Italy)
World Champion 1985 Charles-Henri Sabet (Switzerland)
World Champion 1984 Michael Svobodny (USA)
World Champion 1983 William Robertie (USA)
World Champion 1982 Jacques Michel (Switzerland)
World Champion 1981 Lee Genud (USA)
World Champion 1980 Walter Coratella (Mexico)
World Champion 1979 Luigi Villa (Italy)
World Champion 1978 Richard de Surmont (France)
World Champion 1977 Jean Noel Grinda (France)
World Champion 1976 Joe Dwek (UK)