Jackpots & Side Events

Clocks are REQUIRED in the Championship Division at 2m/12s settings, and by mutual agreement in the Intermediate Division. Clocks are also required in the Monte Carlo Open Open Division, Super Jackpot, High Roller Jackpot, Doubles, & Speedgammon.

Satellites for the Championship Division

€ 125 + 15 Reg Fee

Starting at 13:00 Monday, July 25th. 8-player Satellites for entry into the Championship Division.


€ 45 + 15 Reg Fee

Starting at 13:00 Monday, July 25th running throughout the week. 8-player knockout format. Match points to be announced.


€ 150

Starting at 13:00 Monday, July 25th with continuous entries throughout the week. 85% return. 7 point matches. 50 years of age or older.

Doubles Tournament

€ 500 Per Team

Starting at 17:30 Wednesday, July 27th. Single-elimination. 85% return. 7 point matches.

High Roller Jackpot

€ 4700 + 300 Reg Fee

Starting at 14:00 Monday, July 25th. Single-elimination with re-entries. 15 point matches.

Super Jackpot

€ 920 + 80 Reg Fee

Starting at 22:00 Friday, July 29th. Single-elimination with re-entries. 11 point matches.

Speedgammon Tournament

€ 85 + 15 Reg Fee

Starting at 13:00 Monday, July 25th with continuous entries throughout the week. Single-elimination. 5-point matches. Clocks required at 2 minutes total bank time, 10-second delay.

Ladies Tournament

€ 85 + 15 Reg Fee

Starting at 15:30 Saturday, July 30th. Single-elimination. 7 point matches. € 1.000 added prize money graciously provided by Women in Backgammon!

DMP Tournament

€ 85 + 15 Reg Fee

Starting at 13:00 Monday, July 25th with continuous entries throughout the week. Single-elimination. 1-point matches.

Monte Carlo Open

Saturday, July 23rd - Monday, July 25th

Monte Carlo Open Tournament Registration

12:00 Saturday, July 23rd

Monte Carlo Open Tournament Begins

15:00 Saturday, July 23rd

Open Division Entry & Registration Fee

€ 500 + € 50

Open Division Optional Side Pool

€ 100

Intermediate Division Entry & Registration Fee

€ 200 + € 50

Intermediate Division Optional Side Pool

€ 50

The tournament includes both Main and Consolation flights. 100% total return in both Divisions, split 70% to the Main Flight and 30% to the Consolation Flight. All side pools pay at 95% return.

2022 Tournament Dates & Venue

Fairmont Monte Carlo, Monaco

Monte Carlo Open & Satellites

Saturday, July 23rd - Monday, July 25th

Backgammon World Championship & Side Events

Monday, July 25th - Sunday, July 31st

Fairmont Monte Carlo

12, Avenue des Spélugues, Monaco 98000

World Champion 2021 Masayuki "Mochy" Mochizuki (Japan)
World Champion 2019 Eli Roymi (Israel)
World Champion 2018 Akiko Yazawa (Japan)
World Champion 2017 Didier Assaraf (France)
World Champion 2016 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 2015 Ali Cihangir Cetinel (Turkey)
World Champion 2014 Akiko Yazawa (Japan)
World Champion 2013 Vyacheslav Pryadkin (Ukraine)
World Champion 2012 Nevzat Dogan (Denmark)
World Champion 2011 Takumitsu Suzuki (Japan)
World Champion 2010 Lars "Buster" Bentzon (Denmark)
World Champion 2009 Masayuki "Mochy" Mochizuki (Japan)
World Champion 2008 Lars Trabolt (Denmark)
World Champion 2007 Jorge Pan (Argentina)
World Champion 2006 Philip Vischjager (Netherlands)
World Champion 2005 Dennis Carlston (USA)
World Champion 2004 Peter Hallberg (Denmark)
World Champion 2003 Jon Røyset (Norway)
World Champion 2002 Mads Andersen (Denmark)
World Champion 2001 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 2000 Katie Scalamandre (USA)
World Champion 1999 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 1998 Michael Meyburg (Germany)
World Champion 1997 Jerry Grandell (Sweden)
World Champion 1996 David Nahmad (Italy)
World Champion 1995 David Ben Zion (Israel)
World Champion 1994 Frank Frigo (USA)
World Champion 1993 Peter Jes Thomsen (Denmark)
World Champion 1992 Ion Ressu (Switzerland)
World Champion 1991 Michael Meyburg (Germany)
World Champion 1990 Hal Heinrich (Canada)
World Champion 1989 Joseph Russell (USA)
World Champion 1988 Phillip Marmorstein (Germany)
World Champion 1987 William Robertie (USA)
World Champion 1986 Clement Palacci (Italy)
World Champion 1985 Charles-Henri Sabet (Switzerland)
World Champion 1984 Michael Svobodny (USA)
World Champion 1983 William Robertie (USA)
World Champion 1982 Jacques Michel (Switzerland)
World Champion 1981 Lee Genud (USA)
World Champion 1980 Walter Coratella (Mexico)
World Champion 1979 Luigi Villa (Italy)
World Champion 1978 Richard de Surmont (France)
World Champion 1977 Jean Noel Grinda (France)
World Champion 1976 Joe Dwek (UK)