Shogi – Japanese Chess

Posted by:

Shogi – Japanese Chess

SHOGI Japanese chess

Sunday the 3rd & Monday the 4th of August 2014 in Monaco
Open Tournament, Demonstration, Initiations & Simultaneous exhibition

Event flyer (in English) is available here: Shogi Event Details
Event flyer (in French) is available here: Shogi Event Details

Shogi is a Japanese version of chess. The biggest difference is that captured pieces reenter the game as part of the opposite side. Also, the pieces are promoted once they get into the opponent zone. This makes Shogi more dynamic than chess and drawn games are very seldom.

Professional Shogi Players Attending This Special Event

Toshiyuki Moriuchi

Toshiyuki Moriuchi
Having been the champion of Shogi world 8 times, Toshiyuki Moriuchi will be the 18th Lifetime Meijin, At present, he holds the title Ryuo (Dragon King).

Daisuke Katagami

Daisuke Katagami
Daisuke Katagami (6-dans), professional shogi player, also known in the milieu of Backgammon.

Madoka Kitao

Madoka Kitao
Madoka Kitao (fem. 2-dan), professional female shogi player, and creator of “Dobutsu Shogi”

Open Tournament – Open to all players, including beginners

5 rounds of 30 mins. 30s byoyomi

Direct elimination with repayment in consolation tournament

Entry fees: E30 Many awards!

Sunday, the 3rd of August

12:30-14:00 Registration

14:30-19:00 Play off

Monday, the 4th of August

12:30-15:30 Semi Finals & Finals


Introduction stand

Many Activities!

Free tournament of Doubutsu shogi (simplified variant of shogi)

Sunday, the 3rd of August

13:00-15:00 Initiation to shogi

18:00-20:00 Simul by Katagami 6-dan and Kitao joryu 2-dan

Monday, the 4th of August

16:00-17:00 Exhibition game: Moriuchi (Ryuo) and Katgami (6-dan)

Venue: Fairmont Monte Carlo, 12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monaco

There will be a lecture for those who are new to Shogi.

Please join us at this occasion.

It’s free of charge and no requirements for your participation.


Add a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

World Champion 2022 Sander Lylloff (Denmark)
World Champion 2021 Masayuki "Mochy" Mochizuki (Japan)
World Champion 2019 Eli Roymi (Israel)
World Champion 2018 Akiko Yazawa (Japan)
World Champion 2017 Didier Assaraf (France)
World Champion 2016 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 2015 Ali Cihangir Cetinel (Turkey)
World Champion 2014 Akiko Yazawa (Japan)
World Champion 2013 Vyacheslav Pryadkin (Ukraine)
World Champion 2012 Nevzat Dogan (Denmark)
World Champion 2011 Takumitsu Suzuki (Japan)
World Champion 2010 Lars "Buster" Bentzon (Denmark)
World Champion 2009 Masayuki "Mochy" Mochizuki (Japan)
World Champion 2008 Lars Trabolt (Denmark)
World Champion 2007 Jorge Pan (Argentina)
World Champion 2006 Philip Vischjager (Netherlands)
World Champion 2005 Dennis Carlston (USA)
World Champion 2004 Peter Hallberg (Denmark)
World Champion 2003 Jon Røyset (Norway)
World Champion 2002 Mads Andersen (Denmark)
World Champion 2001 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 2000 Katie Scalamandre (USA)
World Champion 1999 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 1998 Michael Meyburg (Germany)
World Champion 1997 Jerry Grandell (Sweden)
World Champion 1996 David Nahmad (Italy)
World Champion 1995 David Ben Zion (Israel)
World Champion 1994 Frank Frigo (USA)
World Champion 1993 Peter Jes Thomsen (Denmark)
World Champion 1992 Ion Ressu (Switzerland)
World Champion 1991 Michael Meyburg (Germany)
World Champion 1990 Hal Heinrich (Canada)
World Champion 1989 Joseph Russell (USA)
World Champion 1988 Phillip Marmorstein (Germany)
World Champion 1987 William Robertie (USA)
World Champion 1986 Clement Palacci (Italy)
World Champion 1985 Charles-Henri Sabet (Switzerland)
World Champion 1984 Michael Svobodny (USA)
World Champion 1983 William Robertie (USA)
World Champion 1982 Jacques Michel (Switzerland)
World Champion 1981 Lee Genud (USA)
World Champion 1980 Walter Coratella (Mexico)
World Champion 1979 Luigi Villa (Italy)
World Champion 1978 Richard de Surmont (France)
World Champion 1977 Jean Noel Grinda (France)
World Champion 1976 Joe Dwek (UK)