20.000 Added Money

Entry Fee

Championship Flight

€ 1000

Optional Side Pool

€ 500

Advanced Flight

€ 500

Optional Side Pool

€ 250

Intermediate Flight

€ 250

Optional Side Pool

€ 150

Novice Flight

€ 100

Proper dress is required -- "resort casual" is suggested. Smoking is prohibited in both Salle D'Or rooms I and II and Grand Prix rooms A and B.

Registration Fee

Championship & Advanced Division Registered Players

Fee includes Opening Cocktail Party and Awards Presentation Cocktail Party

€ 200

Intermediate & Novice Division Registered Players

Fee includes Opening Cocktail Party and Awards Presentation Cocktail Party

€ 150

Social Guests

Fee includes Opening Cocktail Party and Awards Presentation Cocktail Party

€ 60

Players Not Registered in Main Event

Any player not registered in the Championship, Intermediate, or Novice Division of the World Championship will be required to pay a registration fee. This fee must be remitted by players playing in side events only and/or those participating in money games.

€ 150

Tournament Registration

Tournament Registration will take place Monday, July 31st from 1:00 PM to 7:00 PM. All prizes will be given at the Awards Presentation Cocktail Party on Sunday, August 6th at 8:30 PM outside the Salle D'Or Rooms. Minimum age for entry into all events is 18.


The Tournament Chairman reserves the right, without prejudice to refuse application to attend the tournament to anyone and / or to refuse access to the premises where the play is being held.

Tournament Dates & Venue

Fairmont Monte Carlo, Monaco

Monte Carlo Backgammon Association Tournament

Saturday, July 29th - Sunday, July 30th

Monte Carlo Open

Sunday, July 30th - Monday, July 31st

Backgammon World Championship

Tuesday, August 1st - Sunday, August 6th

Fairmont Monte Carlo

12, Avenue des Spélugues, Monaco 98000

World Champion 2016 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 2015 Ali Cihangir Cetinel (Turkey)
World Champion 2014 Akiko Yazawa (Japan)
World Champion 2013 Vyacheslav Pryadkin (Ukraine)
World Champion 2012 Nevzat Dogan (Denmark)
World Champion 2011 Takumitsu Suzuki (Japan)
World Champion 2010 Lars "Buster" Bentzon (Denmark)
World Champion 2009 Masayuki "Mochy" Mochizuki (Japan)
World Champion 2008 Lars Trabolt (Denmark)
World Champion 2007 Jorge Pan (Argentina)
World Champion 2006 Philip Vischjager (Netherlands)
World Champion 2005 Dennis Carlston (USA)
World Champion 2004 Peter Hallberg (Denmark)
World Champion 2003 Jon Røyset (Norway)
World Champion 2002 Mads Andersen (Denmark)
World Champion 2001 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 2000 Katie Scalamandre (USA)
World Champion 1999 Jörgen Granstedt (Sweden)
World Champion 1998 Michael Meyburg (Germany)
World Champion 1997 Jerry Grandell (Sweden)
World Champion 1996 David Nahmad (Italy)
World Champion 1995 David Ben Zion (Israel)
World Champion 1994 Frank Frigo (USA)
World Champion 1993 Peter Jes Thomsen (Denmark)
World Champion 1992 Ion Ressu (Switzerland)
World Champion 1991 Michael Meyburg (Germany)
World Champion 1990 Hal Heinrich (Canada)
World Champion 1989 Joseph Russell (USA)
World Champion 1988 Phillip Marmorstein (Germany)
World Champion 1987 William Robertie (USA)
World Champion 1986 Clement Palacci (Italy)
World Champion 1985 Charles-Henri Sabet (Switzerland)
World Champion 1984 Michael Svobodny (USA)
World Champion 1983 William Robertie (USA)
World Champion 1982 Jacques Michel (Switzerland)
World Champion 1981 Lee Genud (USA)
World Champion 1980 Walter Coratella (Mexico)
World Champion 1979 Luigi Villa (Italy)
World Champion 1978 Richard de Surmont (France)
World Champion 1977 Jean Noel Grinda (France)
World Champion 1976 Joe Dwek (UK)